Palm Beach iMac transfer
Jeffrey said that he never transferred info from old iMac to new machine In addition is there a best way to clean old machine can you please detail instructions that i can forward to JEE thanks
Richard Kahn
HBRK Associates Inc.
New York, NY 10022
tel
fa
ce
Basically the process is:
- Start the OLD machine holding down T until the dancing Thunderbolt or Firewire logos appear.
2a. If the OLD machine has a Thunderbolt port (HAS to have the lightening bolt icon above) then use the Thunderbolt cable to link the two machines.
- or -
2b. If the OLD machine does not have a Thunderbolt port, then plug one end of the FireWire cable into the old machine, and the other into the FireWire to Thunderbolt adapter, and the Thunderbolt end into the new machine.
(Both cable solutions arrived earlier.)
Run setup, when asked to migrate existing data, choose from another disk, and select ONLY the home folder from the Documents & Data section. UNCHECK ALL OTHER OPTIONS (Applications, Computer Settings, Other files & folders, etc.)
When prompted to log into iCloud use the AppleID that we use iTunes / AppleTV: jeeitunes@gmail.com I Jenjen12
Once the migration completes, log into the new machine with the old machine's account credentials.
Install:
Microsoft Office 2011:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xvnavfjm4sx1sig/Office%202011%20%28814=3.9%29.pkg?dl=0
Adobe Flash Player: http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer
Firefox: https://download.mozilla.org/?product=firefox-34.0.5-SSL&s=osx&lang=en-US
Chrome: https://dl.google.com/chrome/mac/stable/GGRO/googlechrome.dmg
Skype: http://www.skype.com/en/download-skype/skype-for-mac/downloadin
Spotify: http://download.spotify.com/Spotify.dmg
VLC: http://get.videolan.org/vlc/2.1.5/macosx/vlc-2.1.5.dmg
Run all software updates (Open Word and choose Help > Check for Updates and in the Mac AppStore choose the Updates tab).
Once you've confirmed the data is on the new machine and working, we can erase the old machine by opening /Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility.app.
Select the icon for the old volume underneath the icon that should say "Target Disk Mode" (I'm assuming the computer is still attached via Target Disk Mode — if not, repeat steps 1 & 2 above) and click Erase. Select Security Options and click the first tick mark on the left to overwrite the drive with a single pass of zeros (this may take a couple hours).
Once it completes, eject the old drive and shut the machine down. It's now ready to be disposed of safely (the next person will have to reinstall the operating system).
Richard Kahn
HBRK Associates Inc.
New York, NY 10022
tel:
fax:
cell: 212-777-5557
